First tow trip & some questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheRook

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I just finished my first significant tow trip with my new to me 2009 Yukon. I have never towed anything before and was hoping for some insight into my experience. Yukon has 82k, HD trailering package, 1 prior owner who took care of it. I bought a Jayco 184 BS and took it for our first trip this weekend. Trailer weighs around 3700 lbs loaded with camping gear, water, etc. Have sway control, WDH, the full safety package. I went from PA to NY and back this weekend around 200 miles each way. It was hot both days of driving (around 92), heading up 476/76/287...Performed well seemingly. Some things I noticed and questions. ANY insight is greatly appreciated, I'm a complete rookie and will be taking this rig to Seattle and back this summer. Looking for any and all good advice
1) Drove 60-65 whole time, RPMs 2000-2100 normally, up steep grades went to 3-3500 max for no more than a minute or so. I drove in M5 most of the time (question on that later)
2) Coolant stayed pinned at 205-210 pretty much entire time except for a couple bigger hills where it went to 225-230 but not for long, only about a minute or 2. Then returned to 210. I felt like this was really good thing
3) All other gauges pretty much dead center. Pressure right in middle, as well as voltmeter.
4) Question: I did not use tow/haul mode at all. I only used M and set it to 5. My question is about using M. Do you shift on the fly with this? Or just it to 5 at the start? I was a little confused as to how to use it. I am used to a Subaru sportshift that is more responsive when actually hitting the button.