22” vs 20” wheels

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

EMTPete

Reaction score
I have a 2021 Yukon Denali that came with the22” wheels as part of the ultimate package. These are by far the biggest wheels I have ever had on a vehicle. my 2015 Yukon SLThad 18” wheels in it and I had the Michelin Defender LTX tires, which rode great for me. I have been debating since I got the 2021 about swapping the 22s for OEM 20s. Has anyone on here done this and if so did you notice any difference in ride quality or have any type of issue? my regular use is primarily on-road, but spi am in area that gets snow/ice (not too much) and the roads can have some nasty potholes. Am I worrying about switching to 20” wheels for no reason?

Last edited:

adventurenali92

Full Access Member
Reaction score
From what I have read from a large number of guys on here that run 22 inch wheels, a good tire such as the Michelin defender LTX, that 22s can ride well on a good tire platform. It is going to be a slightly harsher ride as a 22 inch wheel will have less sidewall between the tire and the road to absorb bumps and imperfections in the roads. But there are a lot of guys here that will attest to riding well on 22 inch wheels with the right tire setup.

Last edited:

CASTLEDFW15

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I put Michelin Defender LTX with the gloss black OEM rims. Same pattern as the TX edition polished aluminum 22’s just gloss black.

TrueAt1stLight

Full Access Member
Reaction score