2017 Tahoe Headers and Exhaust Questions/Trades

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chris Harris

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a 2017 Tahoe Premier that has 26,000 miles on it. Bought it used at around 15,000 miles on it. It came with aftermarket headers and exhaust system. I know the exhaust is Flowmaster but don't know anything else about it. The dealership removed the cold air intake and sold it without. I didn't know any better nor did they.

I have been driving it for the past 6 months and get this rattling sound that comes from under my feet when I put a load system like being in a low gear or going up a hill. I can only guess this is coming from not enough air flow and the manifold is vibrating off the cross beam under heavy load. I have also had some On Star Codes show up for emissions system issues during this time. My guess is it is becoming too gas rich without the proper airflow.

Fast forward to yesterday, my car won't accelerate past 35 miles per hour. I get the followong On Star Diagnostic codes: Engine and Transmission System, Antilock Braking System, Stabilitrak System, and then my front impact sensor says it is not functioning as well.

I'm about to revert back to stock and pull this system off and will practically give it away if this is the root of my problems.

Looking for help and advice!

Tahoe14

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I would go back to stock, no telling how much it is going to cost to trouble shoot or fix the issue if it can even be fixed. Just my .02 worth.

avalonandl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Before you do anything get the codes read. I assume the Check engine light is on. I doubt the headers are the problem. It sounds like a plugged catalytic converter or your exhaust system is plugged somehow.

Thrust

Full Access Member
Reaction score