1997 GMC Yukon 4x4 Project

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigDaddyTroy

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all,

I just bought a beater... Lots of cosmetic, and interior problems. The engine seems great (already drove it 300 miles in one trip), and the price was right.

This is going to be my project car. I'm not a mechanic, and quite honestly, I don't know too much about brands, jargon, or anything like that...

I do know what I want it to look like, and how I want it to perform.

I live in Mexico (Puerto Vallarta), and it rains a LOT down here in the tropics.

My checklist (as it stands now):

- good balance between off-road and highway performance
- slightly raised (2-4")
- slightly oversized tires
- custom roof rack
- grill guard / winch
- Flow Master (or similar muffler)
- Cold air intake

Things I know very little about, but seem interesting:

- turbo??? (any thoughts on this)
- custom pcm tune???
- high lift cam???

Any pros out there that could set me straight on what I should be looking at?

Also, would it make sense to have the engine rebuilt (for peace of mind)?

Thanks!

Troy

Ironman1979

Full Access Member
Reaction score