2002 Tahoe LT 2wd

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

02TahoeTX

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey everyone! My name is Rob and I'm a newbie around here. I have a clean 02' Tahoe and I'm considering putting a front-end leveling kit (torsion key type), along with new shocks and upgrading the tire size from 265/70R16 to 265/75R16. It needs new tires and shocks anyway, and I don't particularly like how the vehicle has a pronounced nose down posture... makes me think of a blood hound hot on a trail. :p

I also would like the extra ground clearance. Anyway, has anyone here done something similar with the stock rims and have advice or pics to share? Will I expect to get rubbing on tight turns?

Also, can anyone tell me how to find out if the rear shocks were originally Autoride units? I have a hunch this Tahoe originally had that as an option and the PO "cheaped out" when it was time to change shocks... it wouldn't surprise me.

2002-Tahoe.jpg

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Lots of knowledgeable folks here who freely share their knowledge, experiences, and perspectives. Knowledge is power.

I hope that you will become a participating member in the Forum's discussions.

Nice find!

I cannot personally help you with your question; however, other members on this Forum that are much more knowledgeable than me in this area will chime in.

OP
OP

02TahoeTX

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Lots of knowledgeable folks here who freely share their knowledge, experiences, and perspectives. Knowledge is power.

I hope that you will become a participating member in the Forum's discussions.

Nice find!

I cannot personally help you with your question; however, other members on this Forum that are much more knowledgeable than me in this area will chime in.