Yet another yukon transmission thread...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RogueAngel541

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello all,
Forum newbie here and hoping for some guidance. Sorry for the long post, but trying to relay as much info as possible. I am an ASE master tech, only I got out of the automotive world before so many electronics were integrated into every system they could muster. Only bringing that up to say that i do understand how things work to certain degree and that my way of thinking about the symptom may be a bit outdated. I recently purchased a 2016 yukon xl 5.3l as a family vehicle and I am running into an issue with the 3-4 shift in the transmission. Trans was rebuilt not long before we bought it. I have searched what seems endlessly and read many forums but haven't ran across anything yet that fully matches my issue. A few months after we purchased the truck, our first cold snap hit and took out the 3 year old battery. After I replaced the battery and reset the systems, the symptom started a day later. When driving it shifts fine in all gears except going from 3 to 4. Sometimes it just hits harder and other times it's like it shifts out of third, rpms spike for a moment and then kicks into 4th. Never happens on downshift or any other gear. Thinking that it needed a reset after the battery was replaced, I took it to a reputable trans shop in the area and they did a reset on the computer. It shifted perfectly when I left there. Three days later, the issue started again. As it was a day before leaving for our vacation, I had a buddy of mine with a scan tool reset it again. It shifted fine the entire vacation. Two days after we returned home (6 days total), the issue was back again. My sister inlaws boyfriend is a bit of a gm enthusiast so I gave him a call. Come to find out he has everything needed to reprogram/tun