Update to adding trans temp gauge...

Discussion in 'Tech Info' started by DougAMiller, Mar 12, 2019 at 9:41 PM.

  1. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Sometimes A Dumbass

    Posts:
    8,884
    Likes Received:
    11,024
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    All anyone has to do to roll back mileage is sign a piece of paper and send a cluster in to a programmer. If people want to be dishonest they will find a way.
     
    HiHoeSilver likes this.
  2. HiHoeSilver

    HiHoeSilver Away!

    Posts:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    7,382
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    Name:
    Nate
    He is the OP.
     
    drakon543 likes this.
  3. DougAMiller

    DougAMiller Member

    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Location:
    Colorado
    Name:
    Doug
    OK, pulled the cluster out of my Tahoe this morning and programmed memory address 0x000059 with 0x00, it was originally 0x01. It was literally just flipping one bit. Drove it around enough to confirm that the gauge is now working. Interesting that the memory dumps from 2003 trucks that I looked at all were set to 0x00, which is why you can just put the stepper motor in and it works. Apparently, sometime in 2004 GM just decided to set the option to 0x01 if the cluster wasn't equipped with the trans temp gauge.

    So, if you have the cluster apart to put in the stepper motor, making the change in programming only takes about a minute (you just need a programmer like one of the ones I linked to).
     
    HiHoeSilver likes this.
  4. HiHoeSilver

    HiHoeSilver Away!

    Posts:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    7,382
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    Name:
    Nate
    That confirms my earlier research that 2004 was the year it began to be hit or miss. 2005+ are all no go.

    This is awesome. Will now be ordering my gauge face, needles, and steppers.
     
    Rocket Man likes this.
  5. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    my apologies to doug
    ill step out there hoping atleast my point was made and so i dont make a further fool of myself. plus anymore would be just be ruining a good thread.
     
    Rocket Man likes this.
  6. DougAMiller

    DougAMiller Member

    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Location:
    Colorado
    Name:
    Doug
    No problem, and no hard feelings. Understand that my little rant is the result of months of research where I sorted through a lot of conversations in which someone would erroneously declare that messing with odometers is illegal. Simply changing an odometer is not, odometer fraud is, there is a difference.
     
    drakon543, HiHoeSilver and Rocket Man like this.
  7. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Sometimes A Dumbass

    Posts:
    8,884
    Likes Received:
    11,024
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    Exactly. I used to be an electronic technician and worked for a company that did warranty repair work for Chrysler Electronics, which was a subsidiary of Chrysler Motors, before Damier bought the company. In the 90’s they used a lot of full digital instrument clusters and they had a lot of problems with them. We programmed mileage into at least a dozen instrument clusters a day and shipped them out. Same thing was used, an eprom programmer that clipped onto the eprom chip through the back of the cluster. Didn’t even need to remove the cluster from the housing. Dealerships would send us a request for a model and mileage. I assume they would have a record of the ones under warranty but we did non warranty ones as well, so I believe they would have the customer sign an odometer disclosure form since many of the clusters we repaired would have unreadable mileage when we received them, just dashes instead of numbers. Anyway, we programmed the mileage that the dealer requested.
     
    drakon543 likes this.
  8. HiHoeSilver

    HiHoeSilver Away!

    Posts:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    7,382
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    Name:
    Nate
    We know you're no fool. Don't want to screw the thread up either, but wanted to be sure you knew what I thought and I didn't come across wrong.

    That said, AWESOME info, Doug. Thanks for all your work. People will do what they please with certain info, and there's nothing anybody can do to stop them. Stupid is as stupid does.
     
    drakon543 likes this.
  9. DougAMiller

    DougAMiller Member

    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Location:
    Colorado
    Name:
    Doug
    Nate, or anyone else that's interested in doing this. I think once you have the programmer and the software that goes with it, it will be pretty self-explanatory how to change the eeprom. Just need to read the eeprom and change the one location as I've described, then write the data back to the chip, but I'm happy to answer any questions when you get into it.

    BTW, an interesting aside, one of the things that I've seen stated many times when putting a different cluster into the truck is that the VIN of your vehicle needs to be programmed into the replacement cluster. However, I found that when I tried the Denali cluster in my Tahoe and afterward read the eeprom, the Tahoe had changed the VIN itself.
     
    HiHoeSilver likes this.

Share This Page