Tahoe dies out while driving not all the time. What's going on???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JustClean86

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I've already replaced (in order as the problems occured) my fuel pump, fuel filter, heater core, all air filters(cabin and in engine), spark plugs and plug wires. But still idles funny and has been losing power completely 0 rpms on highway and side streets. Not all the time but a few times in a row. I'll be at a light and when it's my green I'll get ready to go and it will die as soon as I push the gas to go. Tow haul came on once while I was parked and shut off the truck not sure why it would do that never seen it before.

Kenney

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I am no mechanic but i would check the TPS MAF IAC sensors im pretty sure a mechanic can check those sensors on OBD reader. And then go from there cause it can also be fuel injectors. The list can go on but i think that should be your cheapest route for now.

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've already replaced (in order as the problems occured) my fuel pump, fuel filter, heater core, all air filters(cabin and in engine), spark plugs and plug wires. But still idles funny and has been losing power completely 0 rpms on highway and side streets. Not all the time but a few times in a row. I'll be at a light and when it's my green I'll get ready to go and it will die as soon as I push the gas to go. Tow haul came on once while I was parked and shut off the truck not sure why it would do that never seen it before.
What are you driving? Stalling like this generically is usually a MAP or MAF sensor, throttle body issue or a fuel pump issue.

Do you have a mechanical fuel pressure gauge and a way to see engine parameters?

steiny93

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What codes are being thrown?