Shock recommendations

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigDaddy13440

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know everyone on here is a HUGE fan of Bilstein's, and if I had the cash, I'd pony up the $300+ for them.

But, one of my best friends is a manager at an Autopart International, and they primarily offer KYB's.
The Excel/ GR2's are the OE ride quality version, the MonoMax are the heavy-duty version, and the Gas-a-Just are their Increased Handling option.

They don't offer a Load Assist option, so an option might be Monroe's, with a "coilover" for load assistance. I work as a contractor, so any given day I'm carrying around from 300-800 lbs in added weight, sometimes up to and over 1200 lbs.

Adding a 2 1/2"-3" key lift, and 2" spacers for the rear on my '01 'Burban. Already have 285/75/16's on it (without any lift, other than turning the stock torsions). May go up to 315/75/16's, but more than likely will put 20" rims on and run a 275/65/20.

BTW - here is RockAuto's spec page on the options.
http://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/....3l+v8,1371585,suspension,shock+absorber,7556

And I've thought about the Rancho 5000's, but I have read that they aren't all that great.

Any thoughts/ opinions?
I can get any of the KYB's at cost. But if a few bucks more will get me better performance/handling/capacity.....

Last edited:

Flexx

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm not an expert. But I would say you would be fine with the heavy duty monomax KYB's. Especially if you're used to driving a truck loaded up and not expecting it to be a Cadillac.

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

OP
OP
BigDaddy13440

BigDaddy13440

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Priced out the 5100's (after scouring the web for hours), couldn't justify over $300 for four shocks.