Sell my Tahoe for new gen or keep?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Solace

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, so I'm at the point where I'm debating on selling my current '13 Tahoe PPV and getting a current or keeping it. Recently my other car was totaled and I received $7500+ for it and get to keep it and sell it.

My current '13 PPV has 142k miles, is fully upfitted due to being my work demo truck and response POV for FD. I'm estimating I could probably get between $10-13k for it if I sold it with everything on. Only reason I'm debating is I'm also a college student so I could also utilize the insurance money to put towards student loans and keep my Tahoe and wrap it midnight blue. I just worry about mileage when attempting to sell it even though it's service life it was well maintained and I also have kept it well maintained.

Any input from anyone to help guide me with this decision?

iamdub

Full Access Member
Reaction score
"College student...", "...could use insurance money to put towards student loans..."

Other than already having such debts, surely the insurance for a new one would be higher. I'd say that keeping your 2013 is the logical choice. You'll be that much farther ahead on repaying your student loans which will help when you are in a better position for financing a new model (that, hopefully, has ALL the bugs worked out). Also, the depreciation for mileage will still be a better deal than the cost of a new model.

blackjack

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Advice from an "ole dog" lol..
Put the $7,500. to GOOD USE, whether paying College expenses NOT covered by Loans - First !!
If all those are covered, then OK to pay down loans...otherwise, it's the easiest funds you can borrow to "start your life" !!!
Now that that's Said -
KEEP THE 2013 PPV, EASY DECISION.