Reduced Engine power, Check Engine.. and other errors...

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by bkboatnsleds, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. bkboatnsleds

    bkboatnsleds Full Access Member

    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    McHenry, IL
    Name:
    mike
    So tonight - on my way home I get the DING DING - and see 'Reduced Engine Power' on the dash.

    Then the ABS light came on..

    So I pulled over - as you cant even go above 2k rpm's when this happens.

    Re started the truck 2 - 3 times and it finally would rev up normally. I went back to my shop, and pulled the codes and got the code P1516

    "Truck is drive by wire"

    I cleared all the codes - and its been fine since.

    Now this happened to me once before but it was when the truck was parked outside in -20 some off weather.. and I think the throttle body actually was froze.. I never had this issue since then.

    So Not sure what the issue is but I take it as it has to be one of a few things - the pedal sensor or the servo on the Throttle Body going bad.. A glitch in the system? I don't know. Anyone else have this?

    I also have NO idea about why the ABS came on - but I got the codes of : C0291 and CO237


    And lastly - this is random - but when the truck went into reduced engine power / limp mode the doors unlocked.. is this a normal safety thing? Kinda weird!
     
  2. chip

    chip Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa
    Name:
    Chip
    I just had the same shit happen to me, but I didn't get your codes (I got a TPS code). When the weather warmed up, I cleared the codes. That took care of it for me.
     
  3. 03YukonNH

    03YukonNH Full Access Member

    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Name:
    Matt
    I had this happen to me a few times back in June/July 2010 when I first bought the truck. It happened about 3-4 times all within a month and was start to p*$$ me off. I ordered a new APP sensor for the pedal and was going to replace it if it happened again and it hasn't done it for over a year. Weird.
     
  4. Freedom Motorsports

    Freedom Motorsports SyntheticMotorsports Supporting Vendor

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    933
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Galax, Virginia
    Name:
    Chris
    Sounds to me like ya'll got some moisture in your wiring harness or plugs. I would inspect the plugs and harness for signs of moisture and whether you actually see the moisture or not, take a heat gun (hair dryer) and attempt to dry the plugs out and see if it happens again.
     
  5. bkboatnsleds

    bkboatnsleds Full Access Member

    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    McHenry, IL
    Name:
    mike
    Maybe I'll try that - and put a little dielectric grease in there too..

    Thx.
     
  6. TnTahoe

    TnTahoe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    788
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    Name:
    Will
    Mine did this about a month ago, I just pulled into a parking lot turned it for about a minute then it started up just fine and ran fine, no problems since. Had my codes read about two days ago and got my left front wheel speed sensor wasnt reading and something about fuel evaporator or something like that, think it had something to do with the gas cap. But I dont think either of those codes had anything to do with the "Reduced Engine Power"
     
  7. chip

    chip Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa
    Name:
    Chip
    You think so? I don't know. I'm hoping it's dirty, frozen throttle body issue. The next time I change the oil, I'll take a look at it. Damn, I hope you're wrong!



    Not a bad idea. Post pics?
     
  8. Freedom Motorsports

    Freedom Motorsports SyntheticMotorsports Supporting Vendor

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    933
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Galax, Virginia
    Name:
    Chris
    Yeah, I had a similar issue on a couple of different trucks. The last time it was the Dmax throwing a throttle position sensor code with zero throttle response, so I changed it and still nothing. When I checked the harness good, water had gotten inside the wire loom and made it inside to the sensor plug, once I dried everything out it was fine. So now I have a perfectly good TPS here that I don't need.

    I'm also thinking that if the throttle body was that bad you would have more consistant issues, ie: possible rough idle, etc. I could definitely be wrong though.

    However, I have also seen an ignition going bad cause funky things like that to happen as well.
     
  9. chip

    chip Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa
    Name:
    Chip

    You make some scary points! You have pics of the plug you're talking about?
     
  10. Freedom Motorsports

    Freedom Motorsports SyntheticMotorsports Supporting Vendor

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    933
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Location:
    Galax, Virginia
    Name:
    Chris
    I don't have a pic, but it is on the side of the throttle pedal, when you order one you get the pedal and plug as an assembly.
     

Share This Page