Negative effects of a tuner, and supporting mods?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lrdchaos

Reaction score
Im new to the gas game, been driving diesels for the last 15 years. I’m looking for something to make my 2016 Tahoe a little more spunky. Are there any negative affects when adding a tuner? Do I need to add an exhaust and intake to benefit, or can I benefit from just a tuner like blackbear?

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
you don't need to change anything else but I would say a lot of people change at least the intake tube and maybe delete a resonator or add a more robust muffler, but it's a matter of person preference, a tune alone will wake it up a bit, and if you really want to go balls out add a supercharger! it just money :laughing1:

Fosscore

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My 06 Tahoe 4.8 and 13 Suburban 5.3 are both Black Bear tuned.

Probably the best $$ mod I did to both trucks IMO.

Plenty of the K2xx style have been tuned. Worth a look and search the site for many positive reviews either in person or by email wth the AutoCal. I did both versions.

Good luck.

mattsmall1972

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I am in the middle of this process. I have done this following things in this order, with this reaction:
1) AFM delete - Awesome, it seems to have better response!
2) 89 Octane gas: holy crap! I didn't know an additional 2 octane would make so much difference!
3) AFM Intake: OK, it sounds like a race car when accelerating and just keeps getting faster!

Next steps:

4) In the middle of a BlackBear tune. I've sent my files in and am waiting on the response.
5) Magnaflow muffler is on the way.

I will also be lowing by 2 inches with springs and helper tow bags.

It's starting to be silly how much better performance can get with a few simple mods and a little bit of $$$.