My 4L60e to 4L80e Swap Journal:

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

srs5150

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Because all applications are a bit different, I thought I would share my progress in an effort to … 1. Make sure I’m on the right track, and 2. To try to help other’s wishing to do the same with similar applications.

I have been consolidating all the info I obtained from dozens of different Internet sources to save time when I actually get busy with the swap. It’s my hope that perhaps (even with my limited expertise) sharing here will shorten the research needed by people who come after me. I’ve never done this before so this is not intended as a how to.

First the basics. My truck is a 2002 Tahoe 4x4 with a completely rebuilt 5.3 making in the Mid 300s right now. I will be putting a turbo on after the transmission with a goal of around mid 500s and keeping it a street-able daily driver. For other noobs like me, my truck falls in the category of NBS (New Body Style) and GMT800. So here’s a short list of stuff I know has to happen to do this swap:

• Get a 4L80e
  • 4L80e Torque Converter
  • Flexplate and adapter
  • New Crossmember or Modification of Existing
  • Swap Transfer case input shaft to a 32 spline or get a TCase from an 80e in a junk yard
  • Longer front drive shaft
  • Shorter rear driveshaft
  • Dipstick tube
  • Rewire or Buy Wiring harness adapter
  • PCM reprogram
  • Trans cooler lines need to be lengthened
  • Shorter Transfer case Adapter and seal
  • Knowledge that 80e has a taller first gear, and the rest of the gears are closer ratio
  • Use NSS from existing 4L60e and wire harness
Here’s where I am in the purchasing process (Using the list from above, I will elaborate on each):