Intermittent rough idle, sluggish and popping in exhaust - FIXED!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

J Mac

Reaction score
I've been battling this for a few months now. Been searching the internet high and low but can't beat it. 2004 GMC Yukon Denali 195k miles. There are currently no codes stored and no check engine light. There has been a P0300 code once but that has been cleared. Issue started slowly a few months back. The truck will sometimes have a rough idle where if feels like a cylinder drops and when it does it can be felt in the whole truck. Take off from a stop light and if it's idling rough, it'll take a few seconds to clear up and then it runs fine. Sometimes it'll pop through the exhaust. Most times it runs absolutely fine. Condition is worse when A/C is on.

Truck has MSD coil packs and wires, GM platinum plugs, long tube headers, custom exhaust with Magnaflow cats, 2-in 2-out Flowmaster 40 series muffler, Airaid Jr CAI. CP's, wires and plugs done less than 2 years ago. Wires have heat insulators and are pulled away from headers. New injectors from Wester's Garage just installed. New MAF sensor. TB has been cleaned several times. I've sprayed around the intake several times with carb cleaner to check for intake leak and that seems good. I took it to a mechanic yesterday that had a scanner that displays the sine waves of the sensors. He said the crank position sensor was very sporadic between 12 and 24 volts and the MAP sensor was also all over the place. His diagnosis was timing chain. Does that sound feasible? I hate to dive into that and still have the issue after replacing it!

I'm supposed to be pulling our camper for a trip Memorial Day weekend and can't until I get this straightened out.

Thanks!
Jason

01ssreda4

Full Access Member
Reaction score