Help with Climate Control Module

Discussion in 'Interior' started by ghostlykeswayze, Jun 30, 2018.

  1. ghostlykeswayze

    ghostlykeswayze TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Name:
    Clint
    2003 Yukon Denali

    I just replaced my climate control module because my original was acting up when trying to change the temperature. I got the Dorman from the auto parts store today. Now when I turn my ac on the compressor won't engage. I know that I've got a charge, I've checked it with a manifold gauge and it was working before I changed to the new unit. Any ideas what's going on? I've tried removing the HVAC fuse to reset but that didn't work. I'm planning on calling Dorman tech support but they're not open until Monday. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Scottydoggs

    Scottydoggs Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    738
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Location:
    NJ
    Name:
    Scott
    what was wrong with the old one? did the ac work at least with it? if so put it back in see if it works again. might have a bad unit.
     
  3. ghostlykeswayze

    ghostlykeswayze TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Name:
    Clint
    Old one was acting up when I'd try to change the temperature. It's the digital one and would sometimes never increase or decrease no matter how many times I'd spin the dial. Also the AC was blowing cool but not cold. I replaced essentially every component of the system so I figured the problem might be the control unit.
     
  4. Scottydoggs

    Scottydoggs Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    738
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Location:
    NJ
    Name:
    Scott
    id swap the old one back in then for a test.

    you might need a blend door reset. or have a bad one.

    my cars ac flat out quit on me the other day, turned out to be a bad external temp sensor, took a bit to notice it, but my cc was reading -32 when it was over 90. new sensor and the ac has not blown this cold in years.
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  5. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    4,927
    Likes Received:
    3,258
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    Is the Dorman replacement controller digital as well?
     
  6. ghostlykeswayze

    ghostlykeswayze TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Name:
    Clint
    Yes it looks exactly the same as the original. I contacted Dorman today and they said that I should try a different model number. Gonna head to the parts store today. Hopefully they have one in stock.
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  7. Chubbs

    Chubbs Full Access Member

    Posts:
    589
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Name:
    Joe
    I would have gotten a recycler from the junkyard, Craigslist or eBay; another option if the aftermarket doesn't work out.

    I've been wanting an OEM radio unit since I bought this truck but you can't swap an OEM radio without programming it or something. We have a recycler Tahoe with a perfectly good unit that I can't use. This irks me
     
  8. bldn10

    bldn10 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Location:
    Memphis
    Name:
    Bill
    Where is the temp sensor that determines compressor duty cycle?
     
  9. Tonyrodz

    Tonyrodz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    10,584
    Likes Received:
    9,029
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Central Jersey
    Name:
    Tony
    It'll work, just need to take the radio apart and take the chip out.
     

Share This Page