Difinitive exhaust choice for the 5.3?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BigBuckeye

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello all,

New owner of a 16 Z71 and I am looking for some feedback on exhaust choices. I have been searching both here and youtube but am not seeing the "must have" exhaust choice for the 5.3.

I have some experience with variable cylinder cars having owned a G8GT and when it switched to a V4 it sounded terrible.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks

Yukon John

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have read quite a bit in online Forums relative to this "It sounds terrible in AFM/V4 mode". I am considering changing the exhaust on my 2016 Yukon 5.3 and have read all of these post with interest.

For me, the solution seems simple: disable the AFM with an aftermarket tuner or with a device such as a "Range" plug in electronic modification. Once you do this, the AFM/V4 mode becomes a mute point. Read some of the comments on this Forum and others relative to the sound quality of different systems and how they sound inside and outside the truck. The sound of an exhaust system is a subjective issue and only you can make the final choice based on what you like. Some of these systems sound great outside but have an annoying drone in the interior at certain speeds.

GM evaluated all of these issues and chose the Borla System as an add on option that meets their criteria as the best combination of sound and performance. I plan to listen to that system installed and use it as the basis of comparison.

In the past, some of the best systems I have heard were CAT back systems that were Custom Systems built by a local exhaust shop using a Flowmaster or Magnaflow muffler with Custom pipes and tips.

Good luck with this.

08HoeCD

Full Access Member
Reaction score