Dealer reflash

Discussion in 'Black Bear Performance' started by gat0r, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. gat0r

    gat0r Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Location:
    DFW
    Name:
    Jay
    howdy

    took my '15 burb in for oil chg & some other warranty work.
    when i picked it up, i found out they were kind enough to do a steering related recall.
    this apparently required flashing the ECM. it drives sluggish now.

    couple of qik ?'s:
    -do i need to read the current tune & send to yall for an update?
    -w/ EFIlive, can i just reload the tune or is there a diff process to follow?

    thanks
     
  2. Galante

    Galante Supporting Member

    Posts:
    12,136
    Likes Received:
    11,379
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Location:
    Up here
    Name:
    Pete
    It wouldn’t hurt to email them whats in the truck now but i believe you can just load your tune back in, its not like bb tunes the steering ya know.
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  3. gat0r

    gat0r Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Location:
    DFW
    Name:
    Jay
    true
    guess im thinking about prior tuners that i have used... where the handheld was basically locked when tuned & you would have to reset it to tune again
     
  4. gat0r

    gat0r Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Location:
    DFW
    Name:
    Jay
    also dont get why they flashed the whole thing ve just doing the steering update
    :-\
     
  5. Galante

    Galante Supporting Member

    Posts:
    12,136
    Likes Received:
    11,379
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Location:
    Up here
    Name:
    Pete
    08HoeCD and HiHoeSilver like this.
  6. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better

    Posts:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    15,451
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    If the dealer reflashed the ecm then the BB tune was erased and the stock tune was installed. You need to reinstall your BB tune. When an ecm is flashed they do the whole thing, not just a segment of it.
     
  7. gat0r

    gat0r Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    417
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Location:
    DFW
    Name:
    Jay
    yup & if i would have known they were going to update that... i would have reprogrammed before they got it.

    i;ll give BB another day & then email them
     
  8. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better

    Posts:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    15,451
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    It usually takes a week for an email to them. They answer them in order of being received. I would send a PM.
     
  9. BlackBearPerf

    BlackBearPerf Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    289
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Name:
    Shannon
    Hello Jay, yes, if you took it to dealership and they had an update for the vehicle, then when they are done, we would have you read out the tune files and email them in so we can update the tune to include the update for your vehicle.
     
    Galante likes this.
  10. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better

    Posts:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    15,451
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    There ya go!
     
    BlackBearPerf likes this.

Share This Page