Autoride?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KF5FVS

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I am kinda new to the Youkon scene. I have bought a 2005 Yukon XL Denali AWD 6.0l, my kid calls it a school bus, I think of it more of a man van but its more the wifes than mine. I will be using it to tow our travel trailer and I have not heard the air compressor for the auto ride come on. I crawled under it and noticed that the bags are blown therefor, I would imagine the compressor is fried. I have not towed the camper yet, and the way it is handling I dont think its gonna be to bad but I will be going on a trip in Oct that will be about a 7 hour haul. the question I have is; I am looking at the Air Lift 1000 air helper springs but it says not to use it with this system. I was just curious if that was because of it ruining a working system (mines not working). Any other help would be welcome I really do not care to cough up the $1000 for the shocks and compressor and it still not fix it. Would replacing the bags (shocks) with a munual air shock be sufice? :emotions122:

Last edited:

felixgun

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure they make an aftermarket solution to your factory compressor issue. PM TYF member JZ BLK 06' -- i'm pretty sure he changed his out on his NBS Denali.

musicman

Reaction score
KF5 I'm in the middle of this job right now. I did a write up on the compressor switch in the tech forum. It's easy and not too expensive. The shocks I'm still working on. I do believe you can switch out the auto ride with regular shocks, but you have to do something with the sensors to make sure that you don't constantly get the service suspension warning. There are definitely people here that have gone that route. Try a couple of searches. The info may be here already.

OHSIXX

Supporting Member
Reaction score