Any amateur radio operators here?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ghost10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looking to install a NMO on the roof.
I have been using this setup for several months but would rather have a real feedline from the roof. Since I am a one man show and don't know anywhere to go to have it done, I decided dropping the whole headliner would be a real PITA for me, and have been thinking a NMO could go here? It's the rear side of the sunroof opening. Theirs room for me to stick my tiny hand and install a NMO there.

Watcha think?

This is what I have right now:

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    162.2 KB · Views: 36

RedInCo

Reaction score
Ham with a 2010 Yukon Denali here. I have not done a permanent antenna install.

So you are thinking to have the coax enter the cabin at the edge of the sunroof trim, and run it over to a pillar, with it visible? That is certainly easier than dropping the headliner.

OP
OP
Ghost10

Ghost10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Current antenna pic did not upload
Ham with a 2010 Yukon Denali here. I have not done a permanent antenna install.

So you are thinking to have the coax enter the cabin at the edge of the sunroof trim, and run it over to a pillar, with it visible? That is certainly easier than dropping the headliner.
pretty much what I plan to do is, remove passenger sun visor, "oh shit" handle pull down that quarter of the headliner down and mount the NMO between sun roof and passenger window.

BTW I have a 18 Tahoe and the backdoor / hatch, I assume it's aluminum but with a continuity meter it is not what I would want to have a antenna mounted to.

My current radios are a XTL5K T Band and a APX8000 HT

I recommend to buy the proclipusa stuff for the truck vs holes everywhere lol

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    211.9 KB · Views: 30
  • image.jpg