4-6" Lift Cross Member Cut Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gmartin1215

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have been researching lift kits for my 2009 Tahoe LT. Currently, I am leaning toward the BDS 4" lift kit. Why 4" and not 6"? Lower COG, and I still would like for the Tahoe to fit in my garage.

Anyway, looking through the install instructions for the BDS kit, I noticed a step to weld on a plate to the end of the cross member bracket that they cut to make room for the lowered differential.

Instructions for the BDS kit are here.

I was also looking at the Rough Country 5" kit too. The RC kit had similar instructions for lowering the differential. However, RC did not have any step for welding a plate to the cut cross member's end.

Instructions for the RC kit are here.

Given the instructions' differences, I am assuming that the step BDS added to weld the plate on the cross member's end is primarily additional protection or insurance that the differential does not get damaged by this modification.

Anyone who has installed a lift and the rear cross member was cut to make room for the lowered front differential and has NOT had a plate welded on the new end, have you had any issues that made you wish you had the plate?

I still think this plate welded onto the cross member end is a "nice to have" feature that BDS has included, but several very similar kits from other manufacturers omit this step.

I am asking the question because I plan to install this lift kit myself, but I do not have a welder. I can probably find a friend that can weld who can help, but if this plate is only a "nice to have" feature, then I can skip this part of the installation.