3 minor issues I'm hoping you can help with.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

partcheck

Reaction score
Hey guys and gals. There's 3 minor issues I'm having on my 05 Tahoe Z71 that I hope you can help with.

1) Oil gauge shows max pressure. I changed the oil pressure sensor and the gauge functioned normally but then after a month, the pressure hit max again and stays there. Figured maybe a bad sensor so I replaced it again and the same thing happened after a month. I've been driving it for 3 months now with the gauge showing max pressure and there is no problem. What could be causing this? Both times I replaced with ACDelco sensor.

2) Whenever I turn on the heat, I eventually get a bad smell like oil burning or maybe coolant. If I turn the heat to upper vents and push the cabin circulation button, the smell goes away. This only happens with the front vents. Whenever the truck is stopped at a light, the smell gets worse.

3) When looking for the cause of that smell yesterday, I saw this. Looks like a leak? Any ideas?

20221211_113418.jpg

afpj

Full Access Member
Reaction score
2 & 3 are possibly related. That location is very suspicious for heater core T fitting(s) leaking. Look at those carefully. You didn't mention your mileage but you probably have over 100,000, if they've never been changed out, it's time.

For issue number one, could be your stepper motor but may need to check the harness to the oil pressure sender. Others much smarter than I can chime in on this. You might do a search as well, I've seen other threads mention a pegged oil pressure so probably could use that as a key word.

OP
OP
partcheck

partcheck

Reaction score