2005 Yukon - Sensor Globe on Dash

Discussion in 'Interior' started by mountie, May 26, 2019.

  1. mountie

    mountie Full Access Member

    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    469
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Bradenton, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
    Name:
    Peter
    As was putting on my new dash cover, I BARELY touched the globe on the dash.
    I think just gravity was holding it on. Any experience replacing or gluing it?

    I assume a couple spots of glue to re-attach it?

    Yukon dash sensor globe.jpg
     
  2. Galante

    Galante Supporting Member

    Posts:
    11,548
    Likes Received:
    10,420
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Location:
    Up here
    Name:
    Pete
    It should actually turn and click in.
    Super glue will work though

    Scratch that, my newer model does that C55793BE-4E5C-455A-A0A7-4F3F41302BEE.png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2019
    Big Mama likes this.
  3. iamdub

    iamdub I feel ya, Mr. Cash. I feel ya.

    Posts:
    6,493
    Likes Received:
    6,790
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Location:
    State Capitol Raceway, LA
    Name:
    Chris
    If the sensor itself is still holding in place (it twists and snaps in, as Galante said), then you can just remove it, super glue the globe back on, and reinstall the sensor. This may be a good time to replace the sensor if the dome is hazed from age, which would make the automatic headlights come on sooner and stay on longer. This is a common and annoying problem because the dash and cluster backlighting dims when the headlights are on, and having them dim when it's still plenty bright outside makes the screens hard to see. I think the part number for yours is 25713063. You should confirm that first, though.
     
    HiHoeSilver and mountie like this.
  4. mountie

    mountie Full Access Member

    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    469
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Bradenton, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
    Name:
    Peter
    No kidding..... Huh..... I'll order one.... In the mean time, figure how to remove it.
    ( That part is for my '05? ) ( premature question ) I'll check..
     
  5. mountie

    mountie Full Access Member

    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    469
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Bradenton, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
    Name:
    Peter
    OK... I'll check it out after the finish of the Monaco GP...
     
  6. mountie

    mountie Full Access Member

    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    469
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Bradenton, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
    Name:
    Peter
    It looks like the sensor globe is not oxidized. ( My Yukon was a garaged truck ).....

    But is it true you have to remove the radio head unit / raise dash to get to it from underneath??

    If that's the case, ...I'll glue it back on.
     
  7. mountie

    mountie Full Access Member

    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    469
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Bradenton, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
    Name:
    Peter
    Between INDY 500 commercials........

    I LOVE this stuff!!

    Yukon ambiant globe glue.jpg
     
    iamdub and Jeff Groves like this.

Share This Page