V4 - v8

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dominick

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Maybe its because I'm a newbie, but with gas topping $4 I've been trying to pay attention to my MPG and when my driving style gets me from V8 to V4.

After a week of mostly highway driving, my Yukon only seems to go into V4 mode when im coasting. The minute I touch the gas pedal she goes into V8

Anyone else notice this?

felixgun

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I noticed the first day I got it.. pretty much never in V4 unless you are coasting or on cruise control

soulsea

Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Mmm, I tried to pay attention to the trip computer once whilst driving to see how that works but it was too distracting so I stopped. From the ten or so minutes I observed it, it would use 4 cylinders on flat highway driving. Any incline or downhill it goes into 8 mode. This I believe is how it is supposed to work.

Caveat being that I don't know if my hybrid drive affects mine differently and I was in cruise control when I was trying to figure it out. Basically I am no help at all. :)

emann_01

Full Access Member
Reaction score
its all about engine load...i believe its 40% of the engine's power and it goes to v8...less than that it will drop to 4 cyl mode

on another note...you bought the wrong truck/suv/brick on wheels to be worried about mpg

soulsea

Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
on another note...you bought the wrong truck/suv/brick on wheels to be worried about mpg

That is a valid statement of course ... although it should be noted that any mpg/$ saving measure when power isn't needed is in principle a good idea.