Thoughts from a 2018 owner to a 2021

tool2269

Full Access Member
Joined
May 13, 2009
Posts
147
Reaction score
12
Location
SA, TX
Curiosity question from a full time detailer. Are you guys saying with the folding running boards that there’s no way to keep them while I the vehicle is off? I always keep them down on equipped vehicles the entire time I’m working a detail, to use as a step, to be able to properly clean them, and to avoid unnecessary battery strain on the system while I’m working. It seems like it’s getting harder and harder to utilize this function. I have a client with a brand new top of the line ram 1500 and the setting to keep the automatic running boards deployed is buried in the menu on the infotainment screen with seat controls. It makes no sense why they would do it that way. Like why out the running board setting there?! I miss they days of a simple push button on near the main drivers controls. Lol
From Bigmanny in a post above..."When parked they should stay down for a longer period of time or until you lock the vehicle. There is an option menu item to change this and keep them deployed while in park (in order to access the roof), but it is buried deep and it only works for a single use. "
 

Dogged

Member
Joined
May 10, 2019
Posts
56
Reaction score
68
You can leave them down until the next forward movement with the truck off. Yes, it's 5 keystrokes deep in the menu.
 

Dave Mathews

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2020
Posts
57
Reaction score
26
Curiosity question from a full time detailer. Are you guys saying with the folding running boards that there’s no way to keep them while I the vehicle is off? I always keep them down on equipped vehicles the entire time I’m working a detail, to use as a step, to be able to properly clean them, and to avoid unnecessary battery strain on the system while I’m working. It seems like it’s getting harder and harder to utilize this function. I have a client with a brand new top of the line ram 1500 and the setting to keep the automatic running boards deployed is buried in the menu on the infotainment screen with seat controls. It makes no sense why they would do it that way. Like why out the running board setting there?! I miss they days of a simple push button on near the main drivers controls. Lol[/
Went out and checked my high country and the boards have on/off and a 2nd option of deploy. What that does is deploys the boards so you can wax roof etc. but once you move more than a couple miles and hour they close. I guess you could unplug them which I’m betting will set off some kind of alarm.
 

adventurenali92

Full Access Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Posts
6,245
Reaction score
6,688
Location
Big Bear Lake, ca
You can leave them down until the next forward movement with the truck off. Yes, it's 5 keystrokes deep in the menu.
Thanks for the tips! I’m sure I’m going to have a client that’s going to have one of these things soon so it’s good to know where to look when I’m ready to detail one hehe
 

GTNator

Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Posts
1,255
Reaction score
832
Great review, thank you. GM did a great job with the new model.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

AngeloUCF

Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Posts
54
Reaction score
15
With the extra 6" in length, are you able to park it in a standard 20' deep garage?
I'm wondering this as well. It was tight with my '15 and '16 so I'm guessing it might be a total PITA with this one being 6" longer.

Great review OP, thanks.

So are you guys saying the parking cameras don't automatically turn on when you are parking in a spot?
 

gary645

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Posts
59
Reaction score
15
Location
Oregon
When parking if you momentarily shift into reverse, the cameras turn on - then shift back to drive and they stay on. Very helpful because the larger body makes for poor visibility in tight spaces.
 

Leothecat

TYF Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2021
Posts
3
Reaction score
5
Yes! Totally agree. Every time I try to park close to curb, signs, etc; you must filter through the menu to find camera. A quick access button is needed. Especially now that they have a "offroad" version/AT4. I would hate to have to keep searching through menus on the trail...
Just switch to r on the tranny button and then the camera comes on even if you then switch to d works great for me
 

Forum statistics

Threads
114,683
Posts
1,563,919
Members
73,553
Latest member
cartyj

Latest posts

Top