1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rear Carrier and R&P....

Discussion in 'Performance' started by ShaginWagon, Mar 26, 2020.

Sponsored By: Black Bear Performance
  1. ShaginWagon

ShaginWagon Member

Name:
    Austin
    So, been doing a little bit of research on these rear diffs exploding. I have little knowledge of diffs, gears, etc. I’m interested in re-gearing the rear and possibly upgrading the carrier to a limited slip or something more quality. I have a leveling kit, 33s and I seem to have lost a little bit of giddy up. I maintain it religiously and just seem to be missing that extra little bit. I seem to have to ALWAYS get my foot down to make her move sometimes. New trans within the last year, healthy 5.3. 2wd. What ratio should I be looking at? Carrier? It’s just a daily I’m trying to build bulletproof. May add some extra ponies in the future but I just want some quality and pep. What do gents?

2. PNW VietVet

PNW VietVet Supporting Member

Name:
    Ron
    Might go with a 3.73 gear in a 9.5" 14 bolt semi float axle. Try to break it then, I dare ya.

wjburken likes this.
  3. ShaginWagon

ShaginWagon Member

Name:
    Austin

Is the 3.73 gear have advantages over other options? I don’t want to trash my gas mileage anymore than it already is. Is that sufficient for tire size and etc?

4. PNW VietVet

PNW VietVet Supporting Member

Name:
    Ron