Intermittent A/C issue related to voltmeter gage change?

KATfishing

Full Access Member
Reaction score
2008 Yukon Denali, 6.2L, 181K miles. Original A/C components and alternator. Newer battery.
On hot days my A/C has intermittently quit working while driving. When it happens I always notice the volt gage displaying its lower level as seen in second pic. In first pic (above 14), the AC is usually working. When it quits working, I can shut off the vehicle at my next stop and it always "resets" and is working again. Sometimes, it'll begin working again while driving and during those times I notice the gage has returned to 14+. I am not a mechanic, but I've learned a lot from this forum, sometimes just by asking a few simple questions that help point me in the right direction as to whether its a DIY job or take it to the professionals. Think the gage correlation is purely coincidental? Or, might this be related to the electrical system... perhaps alternator? The alternator is original, but there haven't been any typical signs of it failing (i.e. dimming dash lights/headlights, or error lights). Vehicle starts strong every time. Or is it more likely a failing compressor, or something else in the AC system? So far, it keeps coming back ice cold, but when it goes out it's completely warm. My snowflake button to activate the AC stays fully lit whether it's working or not. Thanks for any thoughts.

You must be logged in to see this image or video!
You must be logged in to see this image or video!

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
well supposedly when the ac is going the voltage is supposed to in a charge mode, the RVC (regulated voltage control) will not charge the battery if it detects there is a enough charge to run everything without needing additional power, ac of course is a big drain so what you are seeing is normal voltage wise.