How to fix "poppy" rear passenger doors.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AH64Medic

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ever since I bought my NBS suburban the rear passenger doors have squeaked and popped hence the nickname "poppy doors" as my 5 y/o boy calls them. Although I'm not too concerned with what people think but I'll have to admit i hated to explain to people why my doors squeaked and popped. I tried doing what some people suggested like lubricating different spots on the door which helped but didn't fix the problem. I found a page online on how to fix them so I finally got around to it and I'm happy to say the doors open and close like they should with no more noises. I hope this helps some of you and please excuse my lack of photo editing skills. Enjoy.

Note: I'm still learning how to manage my pictures so the best I could do was to add the pictures first and you can go back and use them as a reference. I tried to add one picture as needed for each step but couldn't figure it out.

Parts Needed:
Door Check from donor (I'm sure the part is the same for any rear passenger door NBS GM- Tahoe, Suburban, Yukon, Escalade). I got mine for free at the junkyard but I found the part on O'Reillys website for $52 a piece.

Here's a link. http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/d...=Search_04274_1371585_1333&pt=04274&ppt=C0356

Tools Needed:
7mm Socket (a shallow socket will work but you will probably need a short extension to get to the bolt under the door handle on the inner door panel)

10mm Socket

upload foto

The red boxes shows where you have to remove or disconnect something. The white boxes are the locations of the 7mm screws.

First thing you need to do is remove the door panels. There are two 7mm screws located under the door pull and at the bottom front edge of the door panel. See picture.