good plastic paint for grill?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Does anyone know of any good plastic paint for the stock grill? i have the aluminum bowtie and billet grill painted black with metal paint but i want the big chrome piece black also with some good plastic paint that wont chip. I know someones rattle canned thei grill!

puckhead

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Krylon Fusion is what a lot of people and myself are using

bub

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i wanna try that paint on my lower valance but i haven't been able to find a semi flat.

jeepster

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Im not a pro, but Ill throw in my .02 I have used the fusion and it bonds well to plastics, but its durability is lacking especially for an area abused by rocks, etc.

I prefer to use automotive paint if possible. You can get shop grade paints for about $35 a quart, clear about the same, and a good epoxy primer/sealer (for a gallon) is only around $100 and that will paint a lot of stuff with a shelf life of forever! The sealer is what adhears the paint to the substrate and helps resist chips. So for $170 you can paint everything on your truck in the same color as factory!

Another option is go to an auto paint supply store and buy some real spray etching primer, sealer, and paint. Most shops can put factory paint in a spray can too. This will be about $40 vs the $10 at walmart, but youll see the difference in looks and durability.