Bouncy Bouncy

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ammar456

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been used to driving sport cars for the past 6 or 7 years so, and now that i've shifted to a Tahoe, she's pretty bouncy (shes fine on flat roads but considering i'm in an area with pretty uneven roads it gets pretty annoying). That's great for offroading but I hardly do any of that so...

What's the best way to cut this down to a minimum? Lowering? Sway Bars? I'm pretty new to 4x4 modding in general.

Zed 71

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What trade-offs are you will to make and how much do you want to spend?

Upgraded shocks will help dampen rebound and IMO would be the best to address your bounce issue. Sway bars would be a good addition since you do not offroad and will help reduce pitch/roll (does not directly address bounce).

What size wheel and tires do you have? Larger wheels with reduced tire wall height can reduce the bounce. Depending on the sizes, ride can be harder.

As far as lowering, it just reduces travel and in most cases degrades the ride quality(harder). But they sure do look great. Hopefully those that have lowered will chime in.

Good luck and let us know what you get with a review.

Modded

That Guy
Reaction score
Shocks will def. help, I can sell you some new Bilstein rear HD shocks if you want, they are the best and most popular for these new Tahoes.
PM if you are interested.

OP
OP
A

ammar456

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well im on stock 17"s at the moment but should be pushing up to 22 or 24's in the next two weeks or so, looking around at the moment.

I have two option when it comes to lowering, either a standard 2/3" lowering, or an airbag setup. I know a bunch have lowered normally so any feedback is useful, but how about airbags? Any idea if those cause issues (softer, harder ride?)