Any how to's on removing/replacing 5.7 vortec Chevy tahoe

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chicagochuck

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a 2000 Chevy tahoe 5.7 vortec I got from a friend. Motor is locked. He complained about low oil pressure and then ticking he added oil. A few blocks later while he was driving he said it just stopped.

I posted here in the 1999 forum because everyone always tells me to just tell people its a 1999.. Maybe because on 2000 the motor changed, and its less confusing since i have the 5.7 ?

I found a write up but I'm new to this car and motor so Iv watched videos but cant find the little answers I need.

1.Do I need to support the trans if I am just replacing motor?
2. Can I just remove the ps pump with bracket attached and sit it aside or do I have to remove lines an powersteering pump pulley?
3. Does fan assembly need to be removed
4. How will i disconnect the motor from torque converter are bolts accesbile without spinning fly wheel.
5. What points to attach chains to pull the motor

Sorry if these ques are silly or have been answered. I have removed a few fwd motors and trans but never a truck. I do have a nice write up if anyone is interested those are the things that stood out in the write up that I need clarification.

Last edited:

SunlitComet

OBS Jedi-Do Good
Reaction score
complete how-to below. but if motor it locked and wasted try cranking with heavy duty long ratchet on the crank or remove the tranny with it and once out just remove tranny bolts and slide the tranny off the tc to get to its bolts but expect some reassembly and inspection and/or repair of tranny/converter mating to prevent later damage.

OP
OP
C

chicagochuck

TYF Newbie
Reaction score