addicted to software updates - what to say to get them from Dealer?!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ers37

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Have: 2017 Yukon XL SLT;
Need: software updates to anything/everything available (intelliLink, ECM, TCM, etc);
Why: I'm a believer in keeping tech updated with the newest patch/upgrades to receive the best performance and features possible. Seems reasonable to do this to my Yukon as well.

Plan to keep this Yukon for many miles; I'm a bit obsessive to keep gadgets updated. Cruising around tis2web is seems like there are some available updates since 2017 for the "Human Machine Interface Control Module" (intelliLink?) as well as a number of other modules. ***How to get these for my vehicle???

I called the GMC service garage and the explanation was "we don't do that unless you're having issues. No issues, no need to update"... seems like a weak answer when some of these updates upgrade featers, rather than simply patch flaws.

Where/how to say the right thing to have the car hooked up and scanned for ALL available updates? I'm in the Vancouver/Portland area if anyone knows a guy...

Rdr854

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I understand your sentiment, but as the old adage goes, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. In the regard, Volvo used to upgrade software as part of routine maintenance. They have now found it more efficient to use software updates to address problems. The risk of applying software updates for the sake of updating software is that you can cause more problems or brick the car - as some manufacturers have discovered. When that happens, the dealer then has more work to get your car fixed.

BlackYukon

I'm kind of a Retard
Reaction score
Need: software updates to anything/everything available (intelliLink, ECM, TCM, etc);