2015 Yukon "System Too Rich" code, engine issues (P0172, P0175)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CDD50

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm having an issue with my Yukon's engine and I was hoping someone could give some advice. Just a warning, I have no vehicle mechanics experience so I can't be too specific.

I have a 2015 Yukon with over 150,000 miles. Starting a few months ago, on rare occasions my engine would start acting up. More recently, I've been able to replicate the problem.

If I am in park and idling with the engine running for about 10 minutes or so, the idling gets rough and I get a check engine light and the traction control light. The traction control light goes out pretty quickly after I start moving, however the check engine light stays on. Once the light comes on and I drive away, when I give it gas from a total stop at a stop sign or red light, the truck will jerk forward from the stop as if I put the pedal down more than I actually did. When this happens and I stop and turn the car off, the best I can describe it is it sounds like half of the engine still runs after I shut it down, then it makes a sound almost like it's starting again, the car shakes (sometimes pretty violently) then it shuts down.

The code is "system too rich" on most readers but on one reader it said something about left and right fuel bank. I unfortunately don't have specific code numbers.

I took my Yukon to my mechanic and he told me that this code can be a multitude of things.

Has anyone experienced this or have an idea what this might be? I love my Yukon and want to get this issue corrected so I can keep it for a while longer.

Thanks in advance!!

Last edited:

markni12301

Reaction score