2011 Tahoe LTZ Shocks

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sundancer

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Greeting Everyone, please forgive me if I am in the wrong section but I have never posted before but do read alot here. I am looking for some advice from folks like yourselves that live and breath mechanics.

Unfortunately, I just keep mine super clean and detailed, change the oil and filter and then leave any big job to the mechanic. 2011 Chevrolet Tahoe LTZ purchased new in 2011, no major hiccups yet.

Anyways, I am looking to change my front and rear shocks at 75K and when I go to the parts look-up site at the big Auto discount stores, I get a series of different shocks. Again, since I am not a mechanic, I am not sure if I have air ride or what ? I don't want to buy the cheapest nor do I need the most expensive but I do need some advise on which ones.

I don't use her everyday, I live in the suburbs but come into the NYC once a week and the roads are a mess (120 miles round trip).
Thanks in Advance !

Reaction score
The LTZ more than likely has the Z55 autoride shocks. You can verify this by looking at the RPO options sticker in the glove box.

wsteele

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I agree with @gooffeyguy that there is a good chance you have the Z55 Autoride suspension (which entails electronic dampening control (front and rear) and air auto leveling (Rear) ). These shocks are quite expensive (relative to less sophisticated offerings).

Is there a reason you are planning to replace them? Or are you planning replacement as a prophylactic measure?

I have the Z55 RPO on my Yukon and think it is the best suspension I have owned on a truck.

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score