2004 Tahoe..Missing after using Seafoam

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CJake5

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys! Sorry if this has been mentioned but I’m new to this. I have a 2004 Tahoe 5.3 Vortec with 270,*** miles. I had a lifter tick and decided to do the Seafoam treatment. I did 1/3 of the bottle through the vacuum line and the rest in the fuel tank. After doing this my truck started missing really bad and my transmission wouldn’t shift under load and the service engine light would flash. Also my battery became very weak. I noticed I had a broken plug wire so I put all new plugs and wires on it. Didn’t solve the problem. Next I took out all the fuel injectors and made sure they would open and cleaned them and still didn’t help any. I had my catalytic converters cut off because they were failing which is probably because of the misfire. That solved my truck not shifting under load but still missing really bad. I replaced the fuel filter and that didn’t help the miss either. It’s throwing a P0300 code but I’m at a standstill. Has anyone else had this problem after using Seafoam?
Did anything fix the problem?

thanks

drakon543

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so you did seafoam straight into the engine and then threw some more seafoam into the engine threw the tank? did you do all this all at once or one after another. to directly answer your question no i haven't and seafoam is one of my favorite products. im well aware of the catalytic converter cause and effect tho but thats just expected if you already have weak cats.

wjburken

Supporting Member
Reaction score