Problems with 95 Tahoe after installing new motor.

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by StevenDey92, Dec 25, 2016.

  1. StevenDey92

    StevenDey92 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Name:
    Steven
    I was probing the wrong one, with key on Brown wire on ABS is 11.73V and running it is 14.5V.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  2. SunlitComet

    SunlitComet OBS Jedi-Do Good

    Posts:
    16,100
    Likes Received:
    117
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Location:
    bay area, CA
    Name:
    none
    Then it all seems like the pcm internal electric system is working but it almost like you were scanning the abs module at the time as they use the same codes for its issues. i would try another prom when you can still.
     
  3. StevenDey92

    StevenDey92 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Name:
    Steven
    Have one coming on FedEx, should be here tonight.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  4. StevenDey92

    StevenDey92 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Name:
    Steven
    When we put the engine in, we forgot to hook up a ground, we have body to frame hooked up but we didn't hook the braid ground back up from the frame to the block until about a month ago. Could not having that grounded to the block mess up the PROM?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  5. StevenDey92

    StevenDey92 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Name:
    Steven
    Put the PROM chip in last night and it didn't make any difference at all...

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  6. SunlitComet

    SunlitComet OBS Jedi-Do Good

    Posts:
    16,100
    Likes Received:
    117
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Location:
    bay area, CA
    Name:
    none
    would not damage the prom but it would certainly would been possible to goof something but not always and it typically stops when reconnected. any chance when you changed out the block you missed a ground on the back of the heads or ran tests on things like the coil or module to ensue they were reusable? or were they replaced too? if replaced did you use thermal paste on the ic module.mind you that those last two items would not put the vcm in a frenzy so a damaged circuit is more likely. if you need diagrams let e know which ones.
     
  7. StevenDey92

    StevenDey92 TYF Newbie

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Name:
    Steven
    Well got it figured out.... all it was was the cap and rotor. Got new ones on and she idles and drives great now... I definitely feel dumb...

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  8. rockola1971

    rockola1971 Member

    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Name:
    Mike
    A capacitor opposes a change in voltage (Not Current) This is why a capacitor is rated by voltage and capacitance, no current rating on a capacitor. A capacitor blocks DC current but allows AC current to pass. A transformer opposes a change in current and is rated for voltage AND current.
     
  9. rockola1971

    rockola1971 Member

    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Name:
    Mike
    Ha ha ha ...glad you found it! You should have dumped a Gen 3 or 4 SBC in there and you wouldnt ever have to deal with a Distributor cap and rotor again. I know my 99 Sierra 5.7l runs like absolute crap when it needs a new cap and rotor.
     
  10. 99Vortec

    99Vortec

    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Location:
    California
    Name:
    Mark
    Are you kidding me? You had a new motor and an old cap and rotor?
    What tha? How many miles do you have on the distributor gear?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017

Share This Page