Rear Axle/Differential Rebuild AAR

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CountryBoy19

Full Access Member
Reaction score
ETA, sorry for the length but I really wouldn't be putting this info here if I didn't feel it was important. Differential repair is a complicated process that some liken to "an art" This information is the result of many, many, many hours reading online forums etc plus a generous dose of learning the hard-way. The new diff. has been in for about 400 miles now and I'll check back occasionally to report any problems or problem-free mileage...

Unfortunately, my differential carrier bearings went out recently. With no reputable local shops to do a repair, I decided I trust myself more than the local shade-tree mechanics. I've never done a rear diff/axle before so it was all new to me. I learned some lessons along the way that I would like to pass on.

General info: The 1/2-ton trucks/SUV's have what is called a C-clip axle. There is a small C-clip on the axle, inside the differential that holds it in place. The wheel-bearings (and seals) run directly on the axle, there is no inner race for the wheel-bearings. The differential carrier bearing pre-load is not adjustable with a nut like many larger differentials, it's shimmed, with a kit that the dealer has, and you don't have.

I knew with 120k without an axle replacement there was a chance my axles would be worn where the wheel-bearings ride. There are 2 solutions to this problem, #1 "repair bearings, and #2 replace the axles, bearings, and seals.

The repair bearings incorporate a narrower row of roller AND the seal all in the same housing. Option #2 is self-explanatory. It’s a bit more costly but sets you back to the original state.