First time changing engine oil 2005 Yukon XL

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mountie

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been a Synthetic Blend user. But I hear the possibility of oil leakage due to fully synthetics?

I daily drive close to home..... in Florida.....

I want the best oil...... but I am new to this 2005 Yukon 5.3.

( My old truck was easy.... '88 GMC - 350cid)

Any suggestions?

adventurenali92

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Switched my 2006 to full synthetic at the first oil change into owning at it at like 77,000. Never had any excessive oil burning or leaks.

SnowDrifter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Washington. The desert side not the Starbucks side
Every vehicle i have owned in the last 25 years i have switched over to full synthetic and it has never led to any any oil leaks or worsening of existing leaks.
Same. Everything down to a 1998 went to synthetic. Never owned anything older. Mine's a 05 w/ 140k and the underside is bone dry. Not even so much as a wet spot. Don't think I got the memo that I owned a chevy :p

I use M1 0w30 ESP, NOT the AFE. Stupid naming but the esp has a better viscosity index and better high temp/high shear numbers.

Don't skimp on the filter. IMO it's your biggest determining factor. I'd rather run a top of the market filter and cheap ass oil to meet a budget than the other way around!

SnowDrifter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I should add: Stalk Napa for sales on the mobil 1. They have it on sale for 50% off every couple months. It's like 5 or 6 bucks a quart at that time.

Filter wise, there are only 3 I'd touch, but only 2 I use due to availability.

All listed are a high quality filter w/ synthetic media, silicone ADBV, thick case, etc etc. Note I use the longer units rather than the updated shorties.

In no particular order:

1. Amsoil EAO64