Trailer ball mount

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

domin8

Just Plinking
Reaction score
Highland Park, IL. Transplant from SLC, UT to redu
I could use a little help here since I'm new to towing.

At the end of June I will be towing my wife's car from Southeast Virginia to Northwest Illinois when we move. Saturday I went to Uhaul and spec'd the type of trailer I will be renting so that I could figure out how much of a drop of the ball mount I will need. The measurement came out to be 5”-5¼”. I do not have auto ride, so I anticipate my truck to squat in the rear. Looking in the catalogs here at work I'm only finding 4” and 6” drop ball mounts.

So, here's my question. Should I get the 6” because it's closer to the 5¼” drop, or should I get the 4” drop because the rear of my truck will squat under load?

abright52

2011 Yukon Denali
Reaction score
I would go with the 4". You are going to get a little squat, but you want to make sure you don't have too much weight on the tongue. The 6" may give you problems with hitting the ground on driveways or similar, it would also make it more difficult to load the car if the tongue is too low, since the rear of the trailer will rise.

With just the standard hitch configuration, the limit is 500lbs on the tongue. Typically you want around 10% of the total weight on the tongue. (5000lb max without a Weight Distributing hitch). If you don't have enough weight on the tongue, you could have a situation where your rear wheels are influenced by the trailer movement....which can be very bad. On the opposite end if there is too much weight on the tongue, if can cause issues with the front wheels not having enough weight, thus causing steering issues.

---------- Post added at 10:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:34 AM ----------

Couple of Towing Guides:

http://www.sherline.com/lmbook.htm