HOWTO: Rock lights on a Tahoe (and I assume its variants)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TwiztidPixel

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been asked a couple of times how I installed my rock lights. I have never written a HOWTO before, so if there is anything you think should be added, explained more or would like a photo of something, please ask. In case it needs to be said, I will link the products I used but I have no affiliation whatsoever.

The install isn't super difficult, it just takes time and a game plan. I hope the photos are understandable, I had to switch from my DSLR to my phone in some spots. Again, you are welcome to ask if you need a better photo of something.

FYI:
Even with my 33" tires, I was able to get my drill up into each wheel well after raising the corner with a jack. You should not have to remove any wheels for this.

As will be mentioned below, I needed 3 extensions cables, these will be for the two rear and the second from the rear on the passenger side.

Also possibly important, I situated my "box" at the driver-side firewall, under the hood, so everything I say will be according to that location.

The actual products I used were:
-Xprite 3rd-Gen rock light kit (8 pods)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KGYQ5IU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
-Rock light extensions (I ordered 4 and needed 3, they're cheap enough you might as well get an extra just in case)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01L0ZXO60/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
-I also used an inline fuse holder and a 15 amp fuse. (Auto parts store)

Tools and extra items needed:
-Stubby Phillips screwdriver
-Drill and bit for pilot holes (I used 3/32") **Get yourself at least 6 bits, I broke a few**