DRL's always on or no?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ebelp

Full Access Member
Reaction score
We've only had our Tahoe for a week now, so I'm still a noob, but I thought the LED DRL strips were supposed to run all the time during the day. We always keep the headlight dial on AUTO, and the manual says as long as it's in Drive and there's daylight, the DRL's will be on. However, driving it the other day, I'm almost positive the DRL's were not on.

So my question is, are the DRL's truly supposed to be on at all times during the day when the headlight dial is set to Auto?

hosseface

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a Yukon so I may be wrong.... but I'm pretty sure only the LTZ Tahoes have the LED DRLs.

OP
OP
ebelp

ebelp

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah, it doesn't appear that the LED strips on the LT's operate the same way as the LTZ's. Something else I noticed....the LED strips on our LT are not very bright. Certainly not as bright as the LTZ's I've seen driving around. I can understand making the LTZ's stand out by having only them use the LED strips as the DRL's, but I think it's pretty stupid to make the non-LTZ LED strips so dim. I took this picture today....you can barely tell they're on.
15342378028_e75e5c9a4a_c.jpg

It begs the question...are the LTZ headlights assemblies a completely different part than the LT headlights, or are the LED strips in the non-LTZ's run at a lower brightness somehow. I'm hoping the latter, because that means there should be some way to override it and run the LT LED's at full strength to match the LTZ's.

Last edited:

blackout07

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm sure a flash or maybe a little wiring change would alter the drls. But my LEDs seem to be just as bright as any others.

sharper4

Reaction score