2005 yukon denali Maintenance

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ducks13

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I’ve tried searching this forum but don’t get any hits for some reason. I have a 2005 GMC Denali with about 80,000 miles that I bought a year ago. It has a belt that has started squeaking badly, I’ve tried putting powder on it but it starts squeaking again in a week or two so I am planning to have the belts replaced.

I used to be a mechanic back in the 80’s and then I learned that if you don’t want to have on the road problems (on a GM vehicle anyway) that you should probably replace all belts and hoses at once, also replace the idler bearings and water pump and probably put a set of brushes in the alternator while you have everything relative east to get to at around 75,000 miles.
So my question is, what sort of failures of the above items and/or others should I expect on this vehicle at this age and mileage or in the next 20 or 30 thousand miles?

Thanks for any information you can provide.
John

sonic_the_hedgeh

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Not sure. I just bought a 2004 GMC Yukon Denali XL. It has over 300,000 kms. Was owned by a business for a while in town. So far it runs great. Today I am just cleaning it with seafoam intake cleaner. Word to the wise don't shoot from the air box like I tried it doesn't work. Had to take the intake hose off the front of the engine and shoot in. Once the can is empty let it sit for 110- 15 minutes for a clean. Then you go for a drive. There will be lots of black smoke coming out but that is normal.

I have done this to many other vehicles. With any vehicle always spray directly into the intake manifold that way you get a good clean. A mechanic put me on this seafoam stuff and it is really good. It isn't ******* seals in fact it is all petroleum product.