Could a broken chassis-to-hood ground strap cause my battery to drain and various CEL codes?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dukbludvl

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hi All - appreciate your thoughts on this. 2003 GMC Yukon 5.3L 2wd with 175k miles. I've been driving these 00-06 Yukons for 22 years. Had a 2000 that I put 400k miles on, and a 2005 that I put 300k on, and I love these 00-06 model years so I bought this '03 used a year ago from the original owner after the trans went on my 05 (the 05 also had lingering engine issues, like low oil pressure, so I gave up on it but still have it sitting in the parking lot at the office).

QUESTION: My question is this -- could a broken chassis-to-hood ground strap (the short, foot-long strap that goes from the firewall to the hood, GM part number 15179982) lead to a host of odd electrical problems and check engine lights (CEL) AND drain my battery? I started checking my ground straps and this is the second one I looked at and with the slightest tug it came apart at the hood connection. I replaced it with a new one and am wondering if this is likely to have solved many or most of my weird electrical issues (see more on that below), including a variety of CEL codes and draining of 2 batteries.

HISTORY: Here's the history of what I've experienced in the past year or so:

November 2020: CEL came on, code was P0420 Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 1. CEL went off on its own after a week.
December 2020: CEL on again; ran 2 bottles of CataClean, CEL went off: over the past year, CEL has come on and off for the P0420 probably a dozen or more times;
December 2020: Replaced old battery with new Optima RedTop