96 tahoe-low rpm highway hesitation/P0308 code

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JayG

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to the forum and hoping someone may have some insight for me. I'm going to be as thorough as I can so I apologize if I'm long winded. I'm not a certified mechanic, but have been around cars my entire life and have done all of my own mechanic work for many years. I have a very well maintained 96 Tahoe LT Z71 with a 5.7 vortec with 70k pampered miles. The truck is garaged, in perfect condition and basically a weekend driver. I'm the 2nd owner since 2001. A few months ago I started experiencing hard starting and a very slight fluttering low rpm hesitation on the highway at around 70 mph at around 2000 rpms. The hard starting got worse until it wouldn't start at all. I did fuel pressure tests and decided to replace the fuel pump. Dropped the tank in the driveway, that's always fun. Installed a new AC Delco full assembly pump and sending unit. Truck fired right up. But after getting it on the road, still had the highway hesitation. After a few outings, the SES light came on. Actually the light had been on and off prior to replacing the pump, but I didn't have a scanner at the time. So now I scanned it and got a P0300 multiple misfire code. The truck idles perfectly and runs fine. So just to be certain I immediately went for the obvious ignition parts first and installed all new AC Delco cap, rotor, plugs, and wires, cleared the code, drove it for a while and still the same hesitation. SES light came on again and it's now P0308 misfire cylinder 8. I have read many forums saying that the spider injectors or pressure regulator could be the culprit. I also am aware of the notorious leaking intakes on this model. About 10 years ago I fell victim to the leaking intake gasket and had it replaced. Since my new sy