Factory Shocks?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

IrishTR

Reaction score
Curious, have a 2008 Denali XL with Autoride. The truck just feels really loose, kind of like its time to replace the shocks on a normal setup. But these are autoride, do they wear out like regular shocks? I am sitting around 83K miles on the vehicle, I dunno it just feels like even little bumps that I go over aren't being dampened or anything. Sorry I am not very good at the description, but mainly just wondering if there is a replacement interval typically for the autoride, or is it you'd know it if they were bad? Noticed that there are very few options to replace them at that, and often people disable the whole autoride and put normal ones in their place.

Any info would be appreciated (no lifts no lowering) just plain jane factory stuff ya know.

fiatdale

Houstons Best
Reaction score
I disabled my autoride and put standard shocks all around. If you want to keep it - look into the Arnotts. There's probably 200 threads on this topic.

OP
OP
IrishTR

IrishTR

Reaction score
Ya I've seen that just wondering if I need to replace them or not. When did you change yours as far as mileage?

ccapehartusarmyINF.(ret)

Full Access Member
Reaction score
my 2002 has had to hve its shocks replaced 3 times since it was bought brand new and it has 149k miles the first 2 sets were replaced when my perents owned it and they used the OEM original factory shocks and they last about 60000 miles then it starts to ride like a 1984 cadillac i just replaced them with a set of KYB gas adjust at 130 k and mine still rides like there brand new