Successful sound deadening for headers?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ls1frc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I am enjoying my 6.2 swap very much. One thing that is really starting to get on my nerves is the header "tinny/airflow" sound you hear constantly in the cabin. It wasn't as bad on my 5.3 because of the lower lift cam and smaller engine. But on the 6.2 it is starting to irk me. Basically makes the engine sound like a junker as you accelerate lightly. Still sounds amazing at WOT though.

I have a lot of experience with headers on my previous cars and never had this sound, I think it's just the way the pipes have a sharp bend off the driver side header as it goes into the y-pipe, so you can actually hear the airflow.

I was considering pulling the seats and carpet and added some insulation to the floorboards and firewall area. Do you think this would make a difference? I also saw dynamat has a hoodliner as well.

Can anyone point me in the right direction of which material to buy?

TL;DR, trying to reduce valvetrain/header noise in the cabin.

mikeyss

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The firewall has a thick pad already, but it ends just under the gas and brake pedals. After that is just a small layer of jute attached to the carpet. If you add deadening to that area as well as inside the door skins, most of the noise is gone.

OP
OP
L

ls1frc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Researched for several hours. For pure sound blocking, you want mass loaded vinyl on top of closed cell foam. You can buy them as raw materials and try to combine them, but screw that. So I just spent the money and bought Second Skin Audio Luxury Liner Pro, which has the MLV on top of the closed cell foam already for easy installation.