Should I Buy?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gseclipseaz

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm new to the GMC scene 100%. I am about to trade in a 2017 mini cooper for a used 2011 GMC YUKON sle with 124k. I know it's 4wheen drive a a large V8. Not sure if the high mileage I should stay away from. Or if 13k is considered a lot for this SUV. Any thoughts or things I should look out for before purchasing? Screenshot_2023-08-06-17-41-20-34_824814bf6af97ff348751924da4995ab.jpg

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

I would ask for any paperwork from previous owner. I would want to have a tech inspect it top to bottom and front to back. If they say their tech inspected, too bad, you want your own tech to do that. Ask for a Car Fax. Stay away from any wrecks on Car Fax unless was a very minor wreck and if airbags did not deploy, may be just fine. Going from a small vehicle to this rig is a big difference. Do you need the bigger rig or is it just something you have wanted for a long time? Mileage is not bad but if has AFM, I would not buy it or would factor in disabling it after you purchase. IMO, I would look for a low mileage, GMT800 series from 2000 to 2006, especially the 2005 and 2006. Recommendations will vary a lot because of no vehicle info. Live in a salt on roads stae and have to deal with rust?

petethepug

Michael
Reaction score
In this Gen of trucks 07-14, the 07-09 6.2L do not have AFM or cylinder deactivation. The problem with the AFM is past maintenance (oil changes) affects the motors 2-300k mile lifespan.