New to lifting! 98 2door tahoe?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

costa7

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Im completely new to lifts, so i need some help. I have a 1998 2 door chevy tahoe sport and i have always wanted to lift it. It is stock. Im thinking a 4 in suspension lift and bigger tires to make it look proportional. Im just going to buy a lift off the internet and a friend is going to help install it to save some money. Any recommendations on what kind/brand lift to purchase? Do i have to change anything on the tahoe in order to lift it? Drive shaft? If someone could break it down that would be great.
Thanks!

bowtiefreak

No Quarter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Go for teh RCX 6" kit...it is teh same as the 4" kit. Nice product, I run one on my suburban. The only thing you will need to do is have the Y pipe re-routed around the front drive shaft after the lift is done. Also get an alignment. Any idea what gears are in the truck now? Bigger tires need bigger gears to save the tranny.

The RCX kit even includes the longer brake lines for the front.

bowtiefreak

No Quarter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Those are 35s with 8" of lift. Suburban is 6" of lift on 35s also

RCX is Rough Country. Kits are $1000 on their site, good price, good lift, good fit

Attachments

• IMG_1726.jpg
    IMG_1726.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_1732.jpg
    IMG_1732.jpg
    98.2 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_1721.jpg
    IMG_1721.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 42

Dazrin

Reaction score
I keep reading that either RCX or Cepek are the best choices for 6" lifts, although I can't find the Cepeks in stock anywhere.

It looks new, but has anyone heard anything about the Zone Offroad lift? Supposedly you don't need to get a new front driveshaft with their lift which would cut about 25% off the material costs. http://zoneoffroad.com/product?ki=397

bowtiefreak