Likely a dumb question, but here it goes. I'm fairly new to Chevrolet, 61 and just bought my first 4 for work and

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tgwhit12

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
pleasure about 3-4 years ago. My first was two used 2500 vans. The 4.8 was ticking when I bought it at 85,000 miles and it is still chugging right along 25,000 miles later. One of the Tahoes, former cop car I bought started ticking and I drove it 2,000 miles home from northern NY to Memphis. it bashed up the camshaft pretty badly. I did the LS2 lifters in it, camshaft and new o ring oil pump etc. It runs great now. I guess what I'm puzzled by is that I thought I understood these v-8s to bullet proof except for the AFM / DOD lifters. But, the Tahoes (both former cop cars) never had the AFM / DOD turned on. They came with those features programmed out. The vans, I thought, never had those features turned on either. Neither of them even have the sticker on the brake reservoir. So why are these top ends having trouble, if it never had DOD type lifters?

B-train

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Poor engine oil change schedules is the most likely cause. Vans were probably contactor or delivery under lease = change at oil life indicator (approx 7500 miles). Police cars may have been the same. If they did less than oil life monitor miles, they have TONS of idle time followed by hard running.

Stick to 5k max on oil change intervals and you should be fine. You could also try the Marvel mystery oil, sea foam, or ATF as an additive on a couple oil changes to clean out carbon and varnish buildup that leads to noisy lifters.

Marky Dissod

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The Oil Life Monitor is a great idea ... in principle. In practice, feel free to apply a correction factor.