Info on doing a 6 inch rough country lift

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCHUBS

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey guys i am sorry if i am asking questions that are most likely answered, but i have been looking for the last couple hours and cant find it.

I have a 1997 GMC Yukon 4 Door 4WD i am looking at lifting. i work at a cadillac hummer dealer as a parts guy (i was a tech here for 5 years but moved to parts when we got slow) so i am on a pretty tight budget. I really don't off road much, pretty much an ashphalt queen aside from the ocational fun in a field.

Here are my questions

1. doing the 6 inch lift, are there any extras(upgrades i should get from the company) like up graded shocks and such?

2. what would be the best tire size to run with the truck just leveled not cranking on the torsion bars? 33x12.5x17 35x12.5x17 I dont want to do any trimming

3. If i was to go with 35x12.5x17 how badly would it hurt my MPG over the 33x12.5x17 i use the truck for a daily driver, and occational 4-8 a year tow my buddies trailer for his race car

4. How are the driveline angles with the lift, pinion angle?

5. What modifications has to be done to the truck while doing the lift? (longer brake hoses and are they supplied? lengthening wires for the speed sensors? relocation of component? modifying mounts to make thing fit?)

It would be a big help to if people could post pictures of there trucks with this lift, if the cranked the front end or not, if they have a body lift or not, prefferably no trucks with body lifts, and tire/wheel size and brand of tire.

if i think of more questions i will ask, And i want to say in advance that i appreciate it, THANKS:beer:

19Yukon97

Full Access Member
Reaction score