Engine Startup Procedure rebuilt 2009 6.2l Denali (Rookie Question)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rokjhn

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Picked up a 2009 Yukon Denali AWD with a seized engine recently from a friend that wanted to scrap it. I happened to have a freshly built 6.2l from a 2013 Yukon XL that I was going to put in my 2011 Avalanche, but decided to use it for the Yukon instead. The rebuilt 6.2 has new bearings, pistons, rings, LS7 lifters (AFM\DOD Delete) and Texas Speed L92 VVT Stage 1 Truck Camshaft in it. This is my first time swapping an LS engine as my previous engine swap experiences were over 40 years ago. Can I just start the new engine with the existing computer or do I need to have any tuning done initially? Planning on a custom tune at some point (Black Bear maybe?). Any other advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I cannot personally assist you with your issue, but other members of this Forum much more knowledgeable than me in this area will chime in.

OP
OP
Rokjhn

Rokjhn

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
To be clear:
that camshaft requires a tune
disabling or deleting cylinder confusion (that's what I'm calling it) requires a tune
One tune for both.
The 2009 Truck didn't come with AFM\DOD so the computer the existing computer doesn't have it. I did the kit on the rebuilt engine, i.e. lifters, cam, valley cover.

Geotrash

Dave
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I figured it would, but would it need tuning before initial startup?
The original engine in the '09 should be the L9H (flex fuel + VVT but no DoD) with essentially the same larger injectors as those in the '13 6.2. Since the '13 6.2 has a non-DoD cam in it already that retains VVT, it shouldn't *need* a tune to run. But it will need a tune to run smoothly and get the most from that cam.